Somos 'Temple of Plenty'

Product Information //

There's no denying the enormity of Somos' 2012 demo—a four-song introduction whose epitomizing moment occurs during the final thirty seconds of the first track when the instruments snuff themselves out and singer Michael Fiorentino's otherwise steely voice rises into a serious, startling roar. By the time the band rebuilds itself for a final chorus, Somos has already established itself as an explosive, fiery monster that leaves its listeners smoldering.

It is no surprise, then, that Somos' debut full-length, Temple of Plenty, is more enormous and more powerful than its predecessor, though they replace the scorching, sharp chords with a smoother, more expansive sound. The guitars on "Familiar Theme", for example, are clean, plucked in spinning patterns and strummed in vibrant, wavering chords—that is, until the chorus, when guitarists Phil Haggerty and Justin Hahn step on the distortion. Even then, their instruments are fully fleshed-out, enormous not because of their crunch but because of their breadth. "Dead Wrong" literally bounces, its elasticity derived from the drumming, which is deceptively complex and solid, but also the rhythm of Fiorentino's lyrics. Here, again, the weight of this third song comes not from overdrive or volume or some superficial production trick, but from its beat and dripping guitars, from Fiorentino's firm singing style—from the songwriting itself.

1. Familiar Theme
2. Domestic
3. Dead Wrong
4. Lives Of Others
5. When You Pass
6. Strangest Example
7. Lifeline
8. Distorted Vision
9. Before You Merge