Cursive 'The Ugly Organ Deluxe Edition'

Product Information //

With The Ugly Organ, Cursive made a landmark album for itself and Saddle Creek. The darkest days of the Bush Era were settling in like a dense fog over the entire country, and the outlook was bleak. That made The Ugly Organ especially potent, its gloomy inward focus a natural reflection of the era. The press accolades came quickly, from the mainstream (Rolling Stone called it “a brilliant leap forward,” and Entertainment Weekly said it “raised the Saddle Creek bar”) to the niche (The A.V. Club called it “a potent piece of rock art,” Alternative Press gave it a perfect score).

Disc 1 - Original Album Remastered

1. The Ugly Organist

2. Some Red-Handed Sleight of Hand

3. Art Is Hard

4. The Recluse

5. Herald! Frankenstein

6. Butcher the Song

7. Driftwood: A Fairy Tale

8. A Gentleman Caller

9. Harold Weathervein
10. Bloody Murderer
11. Sierra
12. Staying Alive

13. Excerpts from Various Notes Strewn Around the Bedroom of April Connolly Feb 24, 1997 (originally appeared on 8 Teeth to Eat You)

14. Am I Not Yours? (originally appeared on 8 Teeth to Eat You)

15. Escape Artist (originally appeared on 8 Teeth to Eat You)

16. May Flowers (originally appeared on 8 Teeth to Eat You)

17. Sinner’s Serenade (originally appeared on Art Is Hard single)

18. Nonsense (originally appeared on Saddle Creek 50)
19. Once (originally appeared on The Recluse single)
20. Adapt (originally appeared on The Recluse single)